From Audacity Manual

Jump to: navigation, search

Brief History

Audacity was started in 1999 by Dominic Mazzoni while he was a graduate student at Carnegie Mellon University in Pittsburgh, PA (USA). He was working on a research project with his advisor, Professor Roger Dannenberg, and they needed a tool that would let them visualize audio analysis algorithms. Over time, this program developed into a general audio editor, and other people started helping out.

Today, Audacity is developed using the SVN version control system hosted at Google Code, and SourceForge hosts our main web site and a complete archive of the project's releases going back to 1999. Dozens of people have contributed to Audacity, and progress is continually accelerating.

The Manual

The previous Manual for Audacity 1.2 was written by Tony Oetzmann, with major contributions by Dominic Mazzoni. The current Manual builds on that work and has significant contributions by the following:

  • Gale Andrews
  • Richard Ash
  • David Bailes
  • Christian Brochec
  • Matt Brubeck
  • John Colket
  • James Crook
  • Steve Daulton
  • Scott Granneman
  • Greg Kozikowski
  • Leland Lucius
  • Dominic Mazzoni
  • Edgar Musgrove
  • Tony Oetzmann
  • Alexandre Prokoudine
  • Peter Sampson
  • Martyn Shaw
  • Vidyashankar Vella
  • Bill Wharrie


  • Carmelo Battaglia (Italian)
  • Leo Clijsen (Dutch)
  • Olivier Humbert (French)
  • AndrĂ© Leu (French)
  • Thomas De Rocker (Dutch)
  • Daniel Winzen (German)

For a list of all past and present contributors to the Audacity project and for personal contact information, please visit the Credits page on our main web site.

Help Location